The Autism Society Philippines (ASP) is a national, non-profit organization dedicated to the well-being of persons on the autism spectrum disorder. We envision a society where Filipinos on the spectrum become the best of their potentials -- self-reliant, independent, productive, socially-accepted citizens of an Autism-OK Philippines.

03 February 2011

2011 Quiz “A”

By: Cathy Genovia, ASP Volunteer

Now on its second year, Quiz “A” or Quiz Autism, ASP’s version of Quiz Bee, invited once again, children from different public and private schools. This activity is in line with the celebrations of the 15th National Autism Consciousness Week, which was held last Jan 20, 2011 at the Conference room of the House of Representatives.

Originally, the contest had two categories: Elementary Mainstreamed and High School Mainstreamed. But with the promotion of Inclusive Education, the Committee on Quiz “A” added a new category: Regular High School Category, which is a pilot project. Twenty (20) students from Batasan High School served as the first batch of contestants.

The 20 students were asked to answer questions on the Rights of Children, Autism and Disability in general. Due to the success of the pilot project, the Quiz “A” format will now be replicated in other disability celebrations. This strategy will be adopted to mainstream persons with disability in present education system.

The Quiz Masters for the different categories are: Maria Alpha Larca of Council for the Welfare of Children for the Elementary Mainstreamed Category, Ms. Marivic Manrique of the House Of Representatives for the High School Mainstreamed Category and Mr. Minalang Barapantao Jr of the Committe on Social Services of the House of Representatives.

Winners of Quiz “A”

The following are winners for the Quiz “A” contest. For the Elementary Mainstreamed Category: 1st Place: Jona Victoria Balaquer (Bo. Obrero Elementary School); 2nd Place: Adam Seth Argana (Alabang Elementary School) and 3rd Place: Carmelita Nazario ( Rizal Elementary School). For the High School Mainstreamed Category: 1st Place: Oliver San (Mind Matters Christian Academy); 2nd Place: Irish Charles Eden Satore (Jose Fabella). And for the Regular High School Catergory: 1st Place: Krisna Allison Rico; 2nd Place: Ma. Leninia Guarino; and 3rd Place: Angelyn Sager.
Winners of the Elementary Category
Winners of the High School Category

The said contest was co-sponsored by House of Representatives, Council for the Welfare of Children, Department of Education and BUHAY Party List.


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Sweet Tomatoes Printable Coupons