The Autism Society Philippines (ASP) is a national, non-profit organization dedicated to the well-being of persons on the autism spectrum disorder. We envision a society where Filipinos on the spectrum become the best of their potentials -- self-reliant, independent, productive, socially-accepted citizens of an Autism-OK Philippines.

29 March 2011

Akbayan and Rep. Arturo Robes bring victory for Filipinos with Disabilities

20% Discount on All Medicine purchased from All Mercury Drug Store Outlets nationwide.

Starting April 2011, Filipinos with disabilities may enjoy 20% discount on all medicine purchased from any Mercury Drug Store across the nation.

Akbayan through House Resolution No. 221, and in partnership with the Committee on SocialServices of the House of Representatives persuaded Mercury Drug Corporation to sign a memorandum of agreement with the Committee committing to provide 20% discount on all medicine purchases made by persons with disabilities as mandated by Republic Act 9442 otherwise known as the Magna Carta for Persons with Disabilities.

We urge all Filipinos with disabilities to take advantage of this victory. We also call on the public to report all violations of the said agreement to the House Committee on Social Services or Akbayan and we will not hesitate to pursue the appropriate actions against any documented violation.

Signed by:
Hon. Walden Bello, Representative, Akbayan Party
Hon. Arturo Robes, Chairman, Committee on Social Services, House of Representatives

Philippine Daily Inquirer Wednesday, March 23, 2011, Page A 8

Acknowledgement: GMA news for colored photo, PDI for Ads, Hon. Walden Bello, Representative, Akbayan Party, Hon. Arturo Robes, Chairman, Committee on Social Services, House of Representatives, CSWDO, PAFCWAD, KAISA, Phil. Association for Citizens with Developmental and Learning Disabilities, Inc., WOW Leap Inc., Life Haven Inc., AKAP-PINOY, Nova Foundation, Autism Society Philippines, New Vois Association of the Philippines, Rep. Imelda Calixto-Rubiano, Rep. Imelda R. Marcos, Rep. Lani Mercado-Revilla, Rep. Irwin Tieng, Rep. Emerenciana De Jesus, Rep. David Kho and Rep. Reynado Umali.

Click here to read the Memoramdum of Agreement

Sponsored advertisement


Post a Comment

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Sweet Tomatoes Printable Coupons